Strange Variations, 2018


Strange Variations is a sound art piece curated by Susan Matthews as part of her work with Divergent Contemporary Art Collective.

Susan created a series of visual Graphic Scores and invited some of her favourite musicians to compose and record music based on the scores.

The composers are Rainier Lericolais, Delphine Dora, Clint Newton, Ian Holloway, Antara Annemarie Borg, Caroline McKenzie, Gayle Brogan, Thorsten Soltau, Marco Lucchi, Andrew Paine, The Dead Mauriacs and Susan herself.

Track Listing:

  • Rainier Lericolais ‘Untitled Thought’
  • The Dead Mauriacs ‘Visite de T. and Deuxième Retranscription’
  • Susan Matthews ‘Mother of Air (Part Three)’
  • Thorsten Soltau ‘A Sheer For Fallen Kings’
  • Antara Annemarie Borg ‘Traces’
  • Pefkin ‘Debris’
  • Caroline McKenzie ‘Prelude’
  • Clint Newton ‘Liminal’
  • Ian Holloway ‘Winter’
  • Marco Lucchi ‘das Lied des Chamberlin’
  • Andrew Paine ‘Coffee Stains’
  • Delphine Dora ‘For Susan’

A CD/Book package of the scores and music is available for collectors. The CD is housed in a card envelope style sleeve and the 32 page book includes reproductions of all of the Graphic Scores, plus information about all of the artists involved.

UK Customers £15 + £1.50 P&P

Buy Now Button

International Customers £15 + £3.50 P&P

Buy Now Button

(Photographs of the book & cd by Ian Holloway)

Also available from: Bandcamp


Strange Variations was curated by Susan Matthews for the exhibition ‘Transference’ by Divergent Contemporary Art Collective. The exhibition ran from June 22nd – July 4th, 2018 at king Street Gallery, Carmarthen.

‘In late 2017, through the spring of 2018 I created a series of Graphic Scores using paper, coffee and felt pen. A number of these were exhibited in February 2018 as part of the exhibition “Continuums’.

Graphic Scores are a way for a composer to describe a piece of music without using traditional music notation (the familiar five lined musical stave with ‘dots’ that represent the notes)

For ‘Transference’ I invited a number of my favourite composers/musicians to compose and record an original piece of music based on their interpretation of the graphic score.

It is a testament to the sheer talent, sense of adventure and creativeness of the artists that every piece has its own unique personality, works in a gallery setting, fits snugly alongside the other contributions and yet stands in its own right as an emotive, engaging and satisfying piece of music’

Susan Matthews, June 2018